American Civil War Game Club

American Civil War Game Club

The Union Army War College

Until ordered to be closed and transformed into the Union Army Library by Gen. D.S. Walter, General-in-Chief of the Union Army, on April 29, 2010, the War College was an educational institution of the Union Army in the ACWGC. Its stated mission was "To provide the Federal officer with the necessary skills and information to enable him to perform on the battlefield in such a way that the Rebellion is put down as speedily as possible."

In addition to the School of Tactical Doctrine and the School of Operational Planning, whose articles are being preserved in the present Union Army Library, the War College also ran a Bureau of Military Information whose mission was to "collect, analyze, and provide intelligence on the enemy". The Bureau awarded the George H. Sharpe Medal to regular contributors. From 2003 to 2005 the War College also had a quarterly contest for the War College Prize that initially saw as many as half a dozen submissions each time.


Former Commandants of the War College


Joseph Hooker

Gen. Sam Moon

- November 2000

Zealous Bates Tower

Gen. Kelly Ross

November 2000 - April 2002

Horatio Gouverneur Wright

Gen. D.S. Walter

April 2002 - July 2005

Nelson Miles

Gen. Mike Kaulbars

July 2005 - July 2008

August Kautz

Gen. Randy Hartwig

July 2008 - April 2010


Former Assistant Commandants of the War College


Gouverneur K. Warren

Brig. Gen. Matt Perrenod

April 2002 - June 2003

John Gibbon

Lt. Gen. Mike Tomlin

June 2003 - August 2005

George H. Thomas

Gen. Lars Wistedt

February 2006 - April 2010

Site designed and maintained by D.S. Walter