New Cadet: Brian Twist

A place for UMA Staff and Cadets to practice their forum skills and provide commentary upon their training and game questions. Field army officers and commanders may also participate at their liberty.
Benny Havens was the name of the tavern built beneath the Hudson River bluffs adjacent to the West Point Academy. (See: https://westpointcivilwar.wordpress.com ... allen-poe/)

Moderators: shsober, S. Eichelberger

B. Twist
AotT

New Cadet: Brian Twist

Post by B. Twist »

Greeting fellow Cadets:

A quick introduction.

I live in the UK, up in the North of the country. I have a partner and four children aged between one and thirteen. I work as a configuration engineer for a Japanese company based in the UK.

I discovered the John Tiller games only recently and quite by accident. I decided to take the plunge and bought the Campaign Gettysburg game. Since then I've added Shenandoah, Overland (and Waterloo) to my library. My friend and I have been doing a PBEM of the Battle of Gettysburg and the Campaign in Overland (what an amazing battle The Wildness is).
We've been scratching around blindly with the optional rules, trying to figure out how they work.
I've always enjoyed online strategy games, my current favorites being the Scourge of War series, Strategic Command: World War 2, Field of Glory 2... but the John Tiller games have quite literally taken over my time of late.
What has been a real treat with the JTS games is it has opened my eyes to so many Civil War battles I had very little knowledge of. It's been a great historical learning curve playing these games.

I look forward to my training and perhaps gaming with some of you in the future.

best wishes to all.
Maj. Brian Twist, ACWGC
3/3/XV Corps,
Union Army of the Tennessee
C. Hecht
AotP

Re: New Cadet: Brian Twist

Post by C. Hecht »

Welcome Cadet, wish you all the best in your future endeavors.
Lieutenant General Christian Hecht
Commander I Corps, Army of the Potomac
Joe Meyer