Cadet Tony Belcher on the firing line

A place for UMA Staff and Cadets to practice their forum skills and provide commentary upon their training and game questions. Field army officers and commanders may also participate at their liberty.
Benny Havens was the name of the tavern built beneath the Hudson River bluffs adjacent to the West Point Academy. (See: https://westpointcivilwar.wordpress.com ... allen-poe/)

Moderators: shsober, S. Eichelberger

Tony Belcher

Cadet Tony Belcher on the firing line

Post by Tony Belcher »

Hi all,

A long time player of John Tiller games, mostly Napoleonic with some dub dub 2, who would like to sharpen their Civil War tactical skills.

Having become somewhat skilled at using cavalry to force Napoleonic line infantry into squares I'm finding the need to go back to school for this different era. Civil War cavalry doesn't seem to work like that ;-)

I started playing PC wargames in the mid 1990s - in the old Talonsoft days - but somehow never quite got onto Battleground Gettysburg. After that I took a long detour into the world of tabletop miniature wargames - ancients in 15mm metal mainly (rulesets: DBA, DBM, FoG), with... again... some WW2.

The tabletop club scene here in Australia is becoming somewhat old and moribund so I'm moving back to PC games. There's a vast world of game groups and clubs in cyberspace these days. Plus no need to paint and base my pixel armies, which means more time for actual gaming. I'm going to miss the craft aspects of painting up armies and making terrain but there's no getting around the fact that it's a giant time-sink.

cheers

Tony
Derald Riggs

Re: Cadet Tony Belcher on the firing line

Post by Derald Riggs »

Tony:

Welcome to the Union Army. We are glad to have a member from "down under." Hopefully you will find your experience with the club enjoyable. My experience has gained me some additional friends through common interest.
General Derald Riggs
Union Army, Commanding

M. Lichtenberg
AotC